Who are Dalits?

To learn about the caste discrimination in Nepal, we need to know how it came to be. The caste system is claimed to be originally formed by the religious theory of Hinduism.  It is believed that Brahma who is considered the creator of the world created the four classes- Brahmins (priests), Kshetriyas (warriors and princes), Vaishyas (farmers and artisans) and Shudras (tenant farmers and servants). According to the Hindu beliefs, the caste system assigns every individual to be in a certain group and comes with a hierarchical status as per the level of the caste. A Dalit is so called to be born below the caste system of the four primary castes and is considered as “The Untouchables” because of caste discrimination in Nepal. Due to this untouchability in Nepal, these people of marginalized community face discrimination and violence from the people belonging to other castes and are subjected to be a victim of injustice in the society, in terms of access to education, job opportunities, marital bonding as well as other basic human rights. These communities are found in India (201 million), Nepal (3.6 million), Pakistan (0.33 million), Bangladesh (5.5 million) and parts of Sri Lanka (4.5 million) as well.

Communities of Dalit found

0% India
201 million
0% Bangladesh
5.5 million
0% Sri Lanka
4.5 million
0% Nepal
3.6 million
0% Pakistan
0.33 million